Home > Uncategorized > Women and Men

Women and Men

I’ve been on the road a lot recently (moving, I fucking hate moving), and the car is pretty much the only place I listen to the radio. Advertisements are the bane of my existence right now. I think I’ve heard every variant of “men and women” over the past week or so. Every time I hear it I just think “Oh, well I’ll stay home then.” There’s a particular add for Planned Parenthood that runs pretty often on some of the channels over here that really makes me want to poke my eyes out, because that’s supposed to be a safe space, and I just get that twinge of “well, that’s not me”. Fuck, I was in a therapy group not too long ago where they did that, even after I had talked to the counselors in charge about my identity.

The problem is that they think they’re being inclusive. They’re trying, but missing the mark for a tiny percentage of us. They don’t want to specifically exclude me (often, they don’t even know that people like me exist, which is its own problem), but that’s what they end up doing. It’s always the little things. I think I could handle someone coming up and screaming in my face, just so I could have something that’s obvious to other people to deal with, but that’s not what oppression looks like most of the time anyway. People treating me like an alien is one thing, but treating me normal and still making me feel like an alien is depressing as hell. This stuff is so ingrained in our society, sometimes I don’t think I’ll ever be able to escape it.

  1. May 15, 2011 at 16:32

    I think this really speaks to the invisibility of non-binary identified individuals. You’re probably right that you’ll never be able to escape it, honestly. I wish I knew a way to help make things better.

  2. August 16, 2011 at 12:32

    “People treating me like an alien is one thing, but treating me normal and still making me feel like an alien is depressing as hell.”

    this is something i’ve been trying to put into simple words for AGES. then i’m reading your blog and — BAM! you’ve said it.

    little things like the assumption that i will use the women’s bathroom (based on my rockin’ boobage, i’m sure) and choosing freeze flag teams based on gender (guys against girls!) make me feel sickish. bleh.

    i’d like to quote you on this and write a post on this topic, if you’re cool with it. it might take me awhile cuz i’m notoriously slow, but i’ll write it eventually. :)

    • August 17, 2011 at 00:16

      Thank you, I feel eloquent for once. Feel free to quote whatever, this blog is Creative Commons so long as I get some recognition.

  1. September 3, 2011 at 15:40

Leave a Reply

